skip to Main Content
Brand Review: Kensol

Clothing brand review: Kensol (thumbs down)

I do not normally write posts like this one here, but when I get screwed by company, I do feel I need to share it with the world. This is why most of what you will read here is my communication with a brand regarding a complaint I had from the quality of a product they charge quite a lot for.


The first time ever I shopped in the Bulgarian wannabe fashion store “Kensol”, I experienced a major disappointment. Here’s the short version of the story: my sister and I got two pair of jeans from them. The price was quite high for the local market (especially given that you can find good quality jeans for 20 leva) but I counted on them being a brand who wants to build a name for themselves and though: well, I guess at least the quality will be awesome and I will end up wearing them for ten years.

Well, no.
Their Quality sucks.

What sucks even worse however, is their customer service and their attitude. Instead of trying to explain what happened, I will just copy-paste my email communication with them here and you can draw your own conclusions.


My initial email to them:

From: Nina Alexander
Sent: Tuesday, February 23, 2016 7:43 PM
To: office@kensol.eu
Subject: Customer complaint from quality

Recently my sister and I stumbled upon a piece of denim trousers (jeans) from your latest collection and fell in love with it, as the model in question was nearly a replica of something we’ve previously had. A slight Charleston, falling nicely over the shoes, nice fitting around the hips complimenting every lady’s shape, beautiful denim choice – it seemed the perfect combination. And even thought the price of it is 1/4th of the median salary in Bulgaria we decided it was worth buying two pairs (bought one day and went for a second one on the next). We even intended on blogging about it to describe it as the perfect denim for travelers and send customers your way.

What was my disappointment when only 3 days after wearing it, the side joint started opening up and showing an ugly white line on the side of the thighs. After looking at the trousers from the inside, I realized that the fabric had started opening up, showing it will soon tear apart.

See, I do not expect you to make clothes with the quality of Ferre, Timberland, Northface, etc. What I did expect, however, is that you will match the bare quality standards that differentiate clothes sold in stores from the ones that can be found on flea markets.

In all honesty, I have always questioned your quality which is why these particular jeans are my first Kensol purchase – I decided to give you the benefit of the doubt. The problem, however, indicates a clear misjudgment on the fabric’s qualities by your designers, and I think you ought to immediately reconsider this model and pull out the denim in question from the stores to be re-done. Otherwise you risk losing any chance of winning a reputation in the fashion market.

I am contacting you today to a)inform you and give you a chance to save your rep and b)ask for a compensation. As you understand I cannot take back a worn pair of jeans to a store nor do I ask for my money back. But two pair of jeans worth 100 euros together are a little bit too much to throw to the garbage, which is what my sister and I will need to do with the jeans.

I am attaching pictures to show you the problem I am talking about and I look forward to hearing from you.


Their first response:

From: Messalina Ltd. Bulgaria [mailto:office@kensol.eu]
Sent: Wednesday, February 24, 2016 11:48 AM
To: ‘Nina Alexander’
Subject: RE: Customer complaint from quality

Hello Ms. Alexander,

This is very surprising to hear for your problem.
I say it because we wear the clothes before they go to market.
So we know tha quality, the characteristics and the features of each model.
The fabric is very elastic as you can see and feel. So if anyone takes one size smaller pants than it should be because of the elastic fabric it can be a cause of problem.
I can not say is you case like this but we wear the pants (more than 3 days) and there is no such problem.
Even though you can make a reclamation in the store you have bought it from. I hope you have the document for sale. It will be necessary for bringing back the money or for choosing anything else instead.
Where did you buy it from? I would like to talk to colleagues for this occasion.

Sorry for the trouble you have but we do not think the model has a problem itself.

Regards,

The KENSOL team


My second email:

From: Nina Alexander
Sent: Wednesday, February 24, 2016 12:14 PM
To: office@kensol.eu
Subject: RE: Customer complaint from quality

Hello,

Thank you for your prompt reply but I must admit your answer has surprised me.

Let me clear out some details regarding the situation. My first purchase was size 12 UK (which I am not) because the store did not seem to have my size. I thought I could make things work. Well, as I wore the pants the day after, they started falling down and I needed to urgently buy a belt so I don’t lose them. I would assume this indicates that the trousers were big on me.

So I left the pair in question for my sister, who is slightly taller and went on to purchase a second pair to match my size – #42 Bulgarian, 10 UK. Mind you, I am not a 10 UK size – I am 8 and I would happily take you on a shopping spree in London to prove this to you but the question here is not in sizes. This particular pair of trousers is fine in size and actually lose enough for me to feel comfy. They are definitely not tight.

I purchased pair #1 from your store on Skobelev Boulevard and pair #2 from Sky City mall and no, I do not keep the receipts. The first one was reserved for me for a day (I did not have enough Bulgarian money with me) and then I went and picked it up early in the morning with my little Shih Tzu dog (probably the sales woman will remember me). This happened on the 16th of this month, right after the store opened (it must have been 10 a.m.). The second pair was bought on the 18th of the month, at about 7:30 p.m. with a credit card. This purchase can be proven with a bank account statement.
Nevertheless, your clothes are well branded and come out in collections. I do not understand why is it that you need a proof of purchase, since I doubt anyone is copying you. Besides, assuming that I am incapable of choosing the right size of clothes for myself and try to fit in something smaller is quite arrogant and insulting.

It is up to you to choose if you will act professionally as a “wannabe” European brand would, or ignore my comments all together. Mind you, I shall not run around like a crazy woman, begging sales women to refund me – this would be ridiculous. In case you choose to ignore me which is your absolute right, I shall be forced to share my disappointment of the quality with my readers, since they trust me to give them a very honest feedback on places and purchases.


Their answer:

From: Messalina Ltd. Bulgaria [mailto:office@kensol.eu]
Sent: Wednesday, February 24, 2016 2:57 PM
To: ‘Nina Alexander’
Subject: RE: Customer complaint from quality

As I said I do not mean your occasion is the same as the wrong size. I said that some people make this mistake acoording to the elastan.
We need the purchase document not for prove – this is the order for making reclamation.
We would like all the clients to be satisfied and that’s why you can make your reclamation in the store in accordance of the order.
And we think it is no need to use words as arrogant and insulting.


And my last email:

From: Nina Alexander
Sent: Thursday, February 25, 2016 1:11 PM
To: ‘office@kensol.eu’ <office@kensol.eu>
Subject: RE: Customer complaint from quality

Dear [you never introduced yourself],

You missed the whole point of my email. I do not want money back (but I am attaching one of the receipts just so you know I am not making this up). I have already decided that I can spend the money in question for the beautiful model of jeans you have created.

What I meant when I said “compensate” is not to send me my money back because in this situation, we’d both lose. My intention was to point you to a problem so you can take action and fix it before your reputation is damaged. Then, when you correct the model (so this problem does not occur) I will happily exchange the two pair of jeans I own for the corrected ones. I hope this brings more clarity to my intentions. After all, I did REALLY like the fitting and the design of the jeans and I still think they are worth blogging about. But only if your company can fix the issue.

Shall your decision be to continue responding to my emails with the same tone – better don’t bother answering at all. As a marketing professional and a customer I tried to give you helpful feedback. What you do with this feedback is your decision only.

Have a wonderful day.


You wouldn’t think that this will happen, but after my last email I never got a reply again.

I don’t need to tell you that I will NEVER again be shopping for this brand .This is hands down the worst customer service ever. Had they acted differently, I would not have exposed this but now I do believe you need to know how Kensol treats its customers before you decide to make your next purchase.

Nina Alexander

Nina is the big sister. She's a marketing professional by day, traveler by heart, tech geek, bookworm, beer lover and an amateur photographer. Her motto is Friedrich Nietzsche's famous quote "And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music."

This Post Has 2 Comments
  1. So much hate in the world and all this over a pair of jeans, come on seriously please stop complaining and your life will become better…

    1. Thank you for stopping by Chris. I’m surprised you see this as hate, but that’s your choice. Nonetheless, I stand behind my opinion and won’t take this off the website – people should be warned when spending their hard-earned cash.

Leave a Reply